:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
DM-Wigglestutormap
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.tcpclan.net Forum Index -> -= Map / UnrealEd Questions =-
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wigglebottom
úber Spammer


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Age: 32
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:46 pm    Post subject: DM-Wigglestutormap Reply with quote

Its almost time to release the firts version of my very firts map *wiggle*
it looks like crap couse i havn't figured out how to use the static meshes right.
so most statics arnt aligned perfectly, but none wil realy pose a problem (havn't been stuck anywhere *wiggle)
still working on the direction of my jumppads (atm they just go up ^^; )

Good points about the map:
not too big, and still allot of places to run to.
easy layout (you wont get lost easely *wiggle*)
couple of good sniper spots (mostly in the middle) and some sneaky close combat parts.

bad points:
altough the playability is fine it's visual aspects are crap.
Still needs bot paths.
the bots need paths Razz they are still camping their spawnpoints.
jumppads could use directions (they are usable but they give an error in the editor that they dont have a direction.
partydevil kicked my ass in my own map...
a couple of things more but coudn't remember them. *wiggle*

if anyone has suggestions and ideas about the map feel free to post it.
thanks in advance *wiggle*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
partydevil
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is the map downloadable ingame allrdy?

last time we where not able to connect to the map or something xD


when you join a server you get rly fast in your screen
"connecting to ut://111.111.1.11 - unreal.u2"
some times that screen saty's longer (we all know the screen right?)
when you go to a server where you don't got that map from wich is playing it say's rly fast after that
"connecting to ut://111.111.1.11 - dm-wiggletutormap"

however we never came past the that messege
still joining the server (not downloading yet)


when we setted the map over to other comp whit usb we could just play like nothing was wrong
Back to top
Wigglebottom
úber Spammer


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Age: 32
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

some screenshots of the map.
please keep in mind that its my first attempt at a map ^^; *wiggle*

















hope the pictures make it a bit clearer *wiggle*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 54
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Wiggle. The map in general, looks OK. Of coarse you are not going to bring out a perfect map the first time around, but it does not have to look good, to be good. The flow of a map is about 80 % of the fun in a game. If a map keeps leading peeps to a dead end, then the player will not have fun. Also, if the player gets "lead" to a killing zone, the map is no fun. It looks like you have both out of the way, and there are enough exits and entrances to choose from. That is the first step. The next is the way the map looks and feels. Here you jump into 100 catigories. Lighting, texture and placement of the placement of the detail, such as Static meshes, are just a scratch on the surface.

When you get your map done, I would like to see it, and test it for you. I am fair, and will only give you hints on what can be done better. Hell, I can't play anymore, so I have to contribute to TCP somehow, so if you need help, just ask. Frank

_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 54
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

}TCP{partydevil wrote:
is the map downloadable ingame allrdy?

last time we where not able to connect to the map or something xD


when you join a server you get rly fast in your screen
"connecting to ut://111.111.1.11 - unreal.u2"
some times that screen saty's longer (we all know the screen right?)
when you go to a server where you don't got that map from wich is playing it say's rly fast after that
"connecting to ut://111.111.1.11 - dm-wiggletutormap"

however we never came past the that messege
still joining the server (not downloading yet)


when we setted the map over to other comp whit usb we could just play like nothing was wrong


I had to read that a few times to know what you were talking about, but yes, it should be ready for the net, if you do somethings to the level properties. Make sure the DefaultGameType is set to XGame.xDeathmatch for a deathmatch game. And make sure you save the game with DM-FranksHelp or something like that. And make sure (like I always forget) to take out periods, commas, and anything that the editor would not like. Just save it under an easy name. That should work. Frank

_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rejecht
}TCP{Lunatic


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Age: 40
Posts: 216
Location: .no

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks interesting, at least. ^^

Gameplay > Graphics
But if all gameplay is equal, graphics start to matter, IMO.


I'm not sure what static mesh issue you are talking about, though.

_________________
Die, ugly bags of mostly water!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
}TCP{Ramses
}TCP{Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2003
Posts: 3733

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sneaky Yellow Team strikes again when I'm not looking Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wigglebottom
úber Spammer


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Age: 32
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Been able to get the bots wiggling the right way ^^
The jumppads are fixed too.
My problem with the static meshes is that i dont know how to shape them :S so they wont always align right.
Havn't fixed the download problem. did give him level properties *Wiggle*
PreCasheGame is now xGame.xDeathMatch. Does it need to be Exported ?


ps. Ramses , they invaded my private map o.O *wiggle*
they kept shaking their bottom infront of the camera -_-'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Kerm
úber Spammer


Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Age: 25
Posts: 807

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks good wiggle,
I wish I could build maps..
frankly, Im to lazy to learn Smile

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rejecht
}TCP{Lunatic


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Age: 40
Posts: 216
Location: .no

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wigglebottom wrote:
My problem with the static meshes is that i dont know how to shape them :S so they wont always align right.


To size a static mesh:

In the editor, you can see three boxes in the lower right, by the text Draw Scale 3D.
Make sure the static mesh is selected, then enter the scaling values for the X, Y, Z that you need.
To find the exact scale you can use the measuring tool.

Just hold down shift and hold down the middle mouse button while dragging it between the two points, then you'll see a small measuring number appear.
What you do, is for example measure the length of the static mesh as it is (when its draw scale is 1 by default). You'll have to adjust grid size to get an accurate measurement on some static meshes.

Let's say the static mesh is 640 unreal units in the X direction.

Next, you measure the size that you need it to fit within.
Let's say it's 512 unreal units.

To get the scaling ratio for the X value:
512 / 640 = 0.8

Enter that value in the X input and the static mesh will scale down in this case.

BTW:
A number of good video tutorials:
http://www.3dbuzz.com/
Look for Unreal Tech in the video category.
This site requires basic registration for access.

Site with reference materials and some tutorials:
http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/
http://udn.epicgames.com/Main/WebHome.html

_________________
Die, ugly bags of mostly water!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wigglebottom
úber Spammer


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Age: 32
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tips and encourigement ^^

Havn't been able to work on the map lately, schoolwork tends to get in the way *Wiggle*
The measuring seems handy. didnt know there was such a tool ^^
I'll try to get the meshes right in the near future.*wiggle* i was also wondering if i Could bend and shape the meshes, or will i need a program like 3d Max ?
once i worked out the meshes than i'll try to send a copy to anyone interested *wiggle*

ps. it will not be finished at that point couse the lighting is not done correct and i havn't had the time to get the texturing right exactly. *wiggle* See is as a beta testing map ^^

pps. The exact opening of Wiggle's first pleasure palace is still unknown. I do hope it will be finished somewhere this year *wiggle*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 54
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can make your own static meshes in the editor. Make a large room off to the side of your map. This room is just to build things in, and will not be used to play in. For a tuterol,
make a small cylinder in the big box. now make your builder brush 32 to 64 units bigger than the cylinder. Make sure that it surrounds it. Press the intersect button, and move the
red building brush off to the side. Right click the red brush (it should have the shape of the cylinder now) and choose in the pop-up menu "convert" and then "convert to static mesh".
In the new pop-up menu, fill in for the package, "myLevel", and then give it a name, like "myCylinder". Press "OK" and then go to the static meshes. If everything worked out ok,
you should now have a new package called "myLevel", and in it, your cylinder. Get used to putting everything into this and never ever save ANY package. GL and I hope to see your level soon. Frank

_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Wigglebottom
úber Spammer


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Age: 32
Posts: 665

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks ^^ that will help allot. *wiggle*
Hope i have time to check it out this weekend.
What would happen if i save packages thoug ? couse i saved one or 2 already (after closing the map he asked if i wanted to save em and i said : sure, than i klicked yes becouse my comp still won't listen to a word i say Embarassed *wiggle*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rejecht
}TCP{Lunatic


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Age: 40
Posts: 216
Location: .no

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wigglebottom wrote:
What would happen if i save packages thoug ? couse i saved one or 2 already (after closing the map he asked if i wanted to save em and i said : sure, than i klicked yes becouse my comp still won't listen to a word i say Embarassed *wiggle*


I'll just sneak in and say that you should not save any packages if the editor asks. That is, unless you have actively created and named a new package yourself, and its name is something different than mylevel.

Someone correct me here if this is wrong:

You'll probably have to reinstall the game now, or in some other clever way replace the files the editor has overwritten.

You can search and sort by Date Modified to figure out which where changed, for instance, and see if they can be copied from the installation media directly (not sure about that, may be compressed).

The reason you want to do this is because the overwriting might have changed the checksum of the package, which then won't match with the one that the servers know.

To be safe, I've made all ut* files read-only to avoid accidentally overwriting them. I'd suggest you do the same.

_________________
Die, ugly bags of mostly water!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 54
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A very good explanation, Mr. Reject.

Yes, if you saved any of the packages that Unreal comes with, it would be a good practice to reinstall. Make sure that you save all of YOUR files somewheres, like UnrealBackup, and reinstall the game.

_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.tcpclan.net Forum Index -> -= Map / UnrealEd Questions =- All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2012 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Customized by }TCP{Carnage