:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Unlocking the frames per sec u get Smile
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.tcpclan.net Forum Index -> -= General =-
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
}TCP{Carnage
-=HeAdShOt=-


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Age: 44
Posts: 4594
Location: Nightbar Rooie Ooren

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:15 pm    Post subject: Unlocking the frames per sec u get :) Reply with quote

Found this thread on the titan forum and decided to give it a go Smile

Quote:

You'll most likely want to do this if you feel your game isn't as smooth online as it is offline, even if you have a frame rate of 85 constant.

This is from *h0rd3GGG* on the Ci forums.

I'm re-wording this from my personal experiences.

First, go into your ut2004.ini file and search for "MaxClientFrameRate=". It should be under [Engine.LevelInfo].

You'll more than likely see it has 90.00 after it (or something around that area). Change it to what you like (I have mine at 500 so the hardware can go at full speed).

Second, you'll have to change your netspeed. Forcing it in user.ini doesn't seem to work for me as the frame rate becomes locked on a map change, so I have to manually change it all the time. You'll have to make it an odd number, so if you use 7500, make it 7501 / if you use 10000 (like me) change it to 10001. Do it in the console each time the map changes (netspeed ######) and your frame rate should go up (unless it's already below 85 in the first place).

From personal experience, my FPS is locked at 125 total on the Titan TAM servers - this is either due to a server limit or just something with the ATI fglrx driver on Linux. I also notice when the frame rate is unlocked the game is FAR smoother, even if the frame rate is below 85.

I don't recommend changing your netspeed to unlock the FPS in clan matches when you're using SafeGame (SafeGame doesn't like console netspeed changes).

Enjoy


And whata ya know it works Razz

i changed my line to : MaxClientFrameRate=300.000000
it was set to MaxClientFrameRate=90.000000 what would make sense coz i always got 90 / 91 fps max

I left the netspeed alone and just stood on some darker places to make the fps go up even more (tested on our own tam #1 server) so here are the screenies Smile

So if u want more fps give it a go Smile

Cheers
Car..

_________________
Patience Is A Virtue
Anger Is A Gift

Unreal 1 - 32 slot 227h- }TCP{ Funhouse #6 [MonsterMash !!]-:: Go There ::-
Unreal 1 - 8 slot 227f - }TCP{ Funhouse #7 [TeamArenaMaster !!] -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #1 [TAM / Freezetag] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 32 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #2 [Freon Madness] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 2/4 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #3 [1vs1 or 2 vs 2] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #4 [ONS/TAM/AM/Moso 12p] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 8 slot }TCP{FunHouse #5 [TAM/1on1-DM] !! -:: Go There ::-




Open Source Beer
The }TCP{ Website


Last edited by }TCP{Carnage on Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:55 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Kobra
-=SnAkEbOy=-


Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Age: 34
Posts: 2418

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doesnt 'Safe Game' kick you for 'illegal modifying engine' if you change those settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Carnage
-=HeAdShOt=-


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Age: 44
Posts: 4594
Location: Nightbar Rooie Ooren

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No as far as i know there is nothing bad about doing this

And why should there be .. it basicly could improve your own gameplay and well not realy anything else

i do know there is a setting in safe game that u can set on how many times a client may change their netspeed .

But like i posted i left mine alone and did not change that so no changes needed there

I'll see if i can find a safegame protected server and give it a test there .. but i can't imagine it will cause any problems

Cheers
Car..

_________________
Patience Is A Virtue
Anger Is A Gift

Unreal 1 - 32 slot 227h- }TCP{ Funhouse #6 [MonsterMash !!]-:: Go There ::-
Unreal 1 - 8 slot 227f - }TCP{ Funhouse #7 [TeamArenaMaster !!] -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #1 [TAM / Freezetag] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 32 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #2 [Freon Madness] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 2/4 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #3 [1vs1 or 2 vs 2] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #4 [ONS/TAM/AM/Moso 12p] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 8 slot }TCP{FunHouse #5 [TAM/1on1-DM] !! -:: Go There ::-




Open Source Beer
The }TCP{ Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 55
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a question about this. What if everyone changed there cleint frame rate, would that effect the server?

I am still under the belief that you do not get anything for nothing. There has to be a draw back somewhere. I will try mine and come in tonight. Lets see if it does anything negative.

_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
}TCP{Carnage
-=HeAdShOt=-


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Age: 44
Posts: 4594
Location: Nightbar Rooie Ooren

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it will not effect the server in any way since u can only get a certain set amount of netspeed .. this can not be overriden

And as for the other part .. if it improves your gaming experience i don't see a problem with it Very Happy

And basicly it is just a limit in the game default settings.
It's not like u are creating new things here just getting more out of your hardware

_________________
Patience Is A Virtue
Anger Is A Gift

Unreal 1 - 32 slot 227h- }TCP{ Funhouse #6 [MonsterMash !!]-:: Go There ::-
Unreal 1 - 8 slot 227f - }TCP{ Funhouse #7 [TeamArenaMaster !!] -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #1 [TAM / Freezetag] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 32 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #2 [Freon Madness] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 2/4 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #3 [1vs1 or 2 vs 2] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #4 [ONS/TAM/AM/Moso 12p] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 8 slot }TCP{FunHouse #5 [TAM/1on1-DM] !! -:: Go There ::-




Open Source Beer
The }TCP{ Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
the_kay
}TCP{Member


Joined: 25 May 2006
Age: 29
Posts: 1023

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if you have an older graphic card, it could slow down gameplay.

How do you manage to let UT2k4 show your FPS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Cloud
}TCP{Member


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Age: 38
Posts: 1142

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

}TCP{the_kay wrote:
Well, if you have an older graphic card, it could slow down gameplay.

How do you manage to let UT2k4 show your FPS?


I believe by opening you're console and typ stat fps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 55
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I tried it and it worked fantastic.
_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
}TCP{\ / \ /4nn4b3
}TCP{Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

works a treat Smile

getting 200fps plus @ 1280x1024 with all settings to ultra high and with 8xAntialiasing / 16xAnisotropic filtering . Atl last my cards can run free :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Carnage
-=HeAdShOt=-


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Age: 44
Posts: 4594
Location: Nightbar Rooie Ooren

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great m8 Smile

I'll make this a sticky so everyone can easely find it

_________________
Patience Is A Virtue
Anger Is A Gift

Unreal 1 - 32 slot 227h- }TCP{ Funhouse #6 [MonsterMash !!]-:: Go There ::-
Unreal 1 - 8 slot 227f - }TCP{ Funhouse #7 [TeamArenaMaster !!] -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #1 [TAM / Freezetag] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 32 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #2 [Freon Madness] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 2/4 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #3 [1vs1 or 2 vs 2] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #4 [ONS/TAM/AM/Moso 12p] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 8 slot }TCP{FunHouse #5 [TAM/1on1-DM] !! -:: Go There ::-




Open Source Beer
The }TCP{ Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
}TCP{Cee
-=Anime Maniac=-


Joined: 20 Dec 2002
Posts: 4222
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it really make any difference ingame if you play with 90 fps or 300 ? :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
SLAPHEAD
-=ShOeLaCe=-


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 695

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried it and is makes things smoother.
If you dont have vertical sync on then the screen doesnt break up so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
the_kay
}TCP{Member


Joined: 25 May 2006
Age: 29
Posts: 1023

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

}TCP{Cee wrote:
Does it really make any difference ingame if you play with 90 fps or 300 ? :/


I asked myself that one, too.

Does it matter if you have 3 times or 10 times more frames than your eye can realize? And what about 100k FPS, wouldn't that be much better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Carnage
-=HeAdShOt=-


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Age: 44
Posts: 4594
Location: Nightbar Rooie Ooren

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well even if it is just a small improvement .. it is one Very Happy
_________________
Patience Is A Virtue
Anger Is A Gift

Unreal 1 - 32 slot 227h- }TCP{ Funhouse #6 [MonsterMash !!]-:: Go There ::-
Unreal 1 - 8 slot 227f - }TCP{ Funhouse #7 [TeamArenaMaster !!] -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #1 [TAM / Freezetag] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 32 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #2 [Freon Madness] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 2/4 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #3 [1vs1 or 2 vs 2] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 12 slot }TCP{ Funhouse #4 [ONS/TAM/AM/Moso 12p] !! -:: Go There ::-
UT2004 - 8 slot }TCP{FunHouse #5 [TAM/1on1-DM] !! -:: Go There ::-




Open Source Beer
The }TCP{ Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 55
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does make a difference when the game does not "stutter" anymore.

I was in yesterday and it did not help my game play any, but it was more comfortable to lose to you guys.

_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.tcpclan.net Forum Index -> -= General =- All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2012 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Customized by }TCP{Carnage