:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
my unreal ed is broke

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.tcpclan.net Forum Index -> -= Map / UnrealEd Questions =-
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GINJANINJA
}TCP{ Fan


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:50 am    Post subject: my unreal ed is broke Reply with quote

my unreal ed is broke and i dont want to reinstall it Confused

wat happens is when i was half way through createing my new map i saved it thn restarted my computer and switched it back on, but when i switched it back on the screen went all white Sad

anyone have a solution to this mess ive gotten into?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meledictum
}TCP{Lunatic


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Age: 107
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error reminds me only this...
Phalanx wrote:

There is one error I did not mention at the start. It's the Massive UnrealEd Occlusion Error. This only occurs in Unreal Engine 1 for the same reason mentioned earlier. UE 1 supports automatic occlusion and it is that feature that causes this error. It also only happens in UnrealEd to my knowledge but even so, when it doesn't even run in UED don't expect the game to work either...
Here's what happens: While moving around your 3d viewport suddenly becomes completely empty and black and the only things still visible are the purple mover brushes. You cannot move anymore and you have to ctrl-alt-del UED or crash out with a General Protection Error. Even worse, after reopening the level the same might happen again within a few minutes or you might not be able to open your level anymore at all.

I am not 100 percent certain about the cause but it is likely a brush somewhere that goes completely wrong and thereby completely screws up the occlusion calculations resulting in having the engine not render anything anymore and crash. That brush is still there after you reopen the map so for obviously it's bound to happen again. However, this also seems happen if you have a slow PC and a too complex level.
In general if it only happens once, do not care about it. Else fix it by doing this - First of all open your level but make sure all viewports are set to a 2D view before opening the file. Then try to see if you can find the brush that causes the problem. Complex brushes, or stuff that just looks wrong, non convex etc. might all the the cause. Also try to rebuild again + try not to run the optimization process. If that still doesn't fix it, and it likely won't actually, you will need to export-import the level from a t3d format .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GINJANINJA
}TCP{ Fan


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thts confuzed me but its just my editor tht wont load the game plays fine

but as i said as i open it the whole screen goes completely white and i cant do nothin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meledictum
}TCP{Lunatic


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Age: 107
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You tried to rebuild all?
Maybe load auto save?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Marcin.B.BlackT32
WooT !!


Joined: 22 May 2006
Age: 25
Posts: 1154
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should use new view. It should be somewhere in View section. I don't remeber exactly.
_________________
www.marcinbblack.deviantart.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GINJANINJA
}TCP{ Fan


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rebuld all auto save Confused say tht in explained english please Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meledictum
}TCP{Lunatic


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Age: 107
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In UED Click View --> Viewports --> Configure --> OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GINJANINJA
}TCP{ Fan


Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok its sorted now thnx to all tht helped =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
}TCP{Snowbird
}TCP{Member


Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Age: 54
Posts: 3007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry that i missed this. This is going to happen more often now that it has happened once. Just remember the solution, you are going to need it often.
_________________
I'm the mapper, he's the DJ

Fresh Prince: Will Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.tcpclan.net Forum Index -> -= Map / UnrealEd Questions =- All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2012 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Customized by }TCP{Carnage